Read: Proverbs 1:1-7

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction. (v. 7)

The first four of the seven virtues (prudence, temperance, fortitude, and justice) are called the cardinal virtues. The word cardinal comes from the Latin word for hinge; according to medieval thought, the cardinal virtues were pivotal to living a moral life.

Prudence is the first of the cardinal virtues. Nowadays, when we think of prudence, we may imagine someone who is cautious—someone who plays it safe. But prudence really means the sound judgment that is born of wisdom. A prudent person can determine when it may be necessary to take a risk for the sake of a greater good, whereas a foolhardy person risks without calculating the cost. Prudence is the practice of applied wisdom, determining what is virtuous, and what is not.

In the opening to Proverbs, Solomon tells us that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. Those of us who wish to be prudent must first show respect and reverence to God, submitting our reason and our will to his guidance.

I once asked one of the wisest men I know how I could become wise. He was a high school principal for over forty years and, over the course of his career, had made difficult decisions that affected the lives of countless students and their parents. When I asked him, he laughed gently and said, “Well, I don’t know about being wise. But I do spend a lot of time in prayer.” —Jane Olson

As you pray, ask God to teach you wisdom.

About the Author

Jane Olson is a college counselor and high school teacher. She lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and children.

Today is Giving Tuesday!

Your donation will bring hope to the Kuku tribe of Uganda by helping to translate the New Testament into their language for the first time ever. Today only, your donation can be tripled to have an even greater impact.

Download your free Carols and Lessons kit:

  • 25-Day Carols and Lessons for Adults
  • 5-Day Carols and Lessons for Kids
  • Printable Nativity Set